1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need help with Special Relativity: Force and Energy

1. Jun 20, 2010 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I'm trying to show that

[tex]\frac{dE}{dT}[/tex]= F x V where F is force and V is velocity

Can someone please help me out?

2. Relevant equations

F=[tex]\frac{dP}{dT}[/tex]=M x V x [tex]\gamma[/tex]

All of the other equations from special relativity (contraction, dilation, energy) are probably important as well.

3. The attempt at a solution

Honestly, I have no idea where to start. Can someone please point me in the right direction. I'm a high school junior and I have very little experience with relativity. I understand that I should show some work, but I truly don't have any but I have been trying for a while.

Please help me get started!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 20, 2010 #2

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor

You should know the formula for the relativistic energy E of an object. Try differentiating that with respect to time and see what you get.

4. Jun 20, 2010 #3
    The formulas for relativistic energy don't involve time (t) as far as I can tell.
    I'm not sure how taking the derivative of that would help unless I'm
    overlooking something.

5. Jun 20, 2010 #4

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor

It doesn't depend explicitly on time, but the energy depends on [itex]\gamma[/itex], which, in turn, depends on velocity, which does change with time.

6. Jun 20, 2010 #5
    gosh, now I'm even more stuck, thanks anyway.

so you meant that I should use [tex]\frac{x}{t}[/tex] instead of v?

well after doing that, and taking the derivative, I can see no way for it to manipulate in F x V.