Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Need help with Special Relativity: Force and Energy

1. Jun 20, 2010 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I'm trying to show that

[tex]\frac{dE}{dT}[/tex]= F x V where F is force and V is velocity

Can someone please help me out?

2. Relevant equations

F=[tex]\frac{dP}{dT}[/tex]=M x V x [tex]\gamma[/tex]

All of the other equations from special relativity (contraction, dilation, energy) are probably important as well.

3. The attempt at a solution

Honestly, I have no idea where to start. Can someone please point me in the right direction. I'm a high school junior and I have very little experience with relativity. I understand that I should show some work, but I truly don't have any but I have been trying for a while.

Please help me get started!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 20, 2010 #2

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor

You should know the formula for the relativistic energy E of an object. Try differentiating that with respect to time and see what you get.

4. Jun 20, 2010 #3
    The formulas for relativistic energy don't involve time (t) as far as I can tell.
    I'm not sure how taking the derivative of that would help unless I'm
    overlooking something.

5. Jun 20, 2010 #4

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor

It doesn't depend explicitly on time, but the energy depends on [itex]\gamma[/itex], which, in turn, depends on velocity, which does change with time.

6. Jun 20, 2010 #5
    gosh, now I'm even more stuck, thanks anyway.

so you meant that I should use [tex]\frac{x}{t}[/tex] instead of v?

well after doing that, and taking the derivative, I can see no way for it to manipulate in F x V.

7. Jun 20, 2010 #6

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper