1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need some guidance on Linear Algebra proofs

1. Feb 21, 2015 #1
    First, let me say that I am a senior physics undergrad. I have failed Linear Algebra once before. Otherwise I am a straight A student. I'm also taking Ordinary Differential Equations right now, and I breeze through that class without a care in the world. I'm not sure if I've developed some sort of mental block, or just convinced myself that I can't do it, but I find the LA bewildering and frustrating, and my professor has been no help at all. I have absolutely no problem with the "math" side of things. Once operations have been defined I can solve any matrix or vector problem I'm given, but when the book asks me to "prove" something I'm often at a loss, unless I can prove it merely by performing some operations that reduce to the problem to the thing I'm trying to prove.

Anyway, here's an example of a proof that I am unable to figure out:

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Show that if ad-bc=0, then the equation Ax=0 has more than one solution. Why does this imply that A is not invertible? [Hint: First, consider a=b=0. Then, if a and b are not both zero, consider the vector x=<-b,a> (sorry, I tried to latex this up, but I don't know enough about it. x is a column vector).

2. Relevant equations
    Theorems I suppose? The definition of the inverse matrix?

3. The attempt at a solution