Need some help with understanding linear approximations

In summary: Linear Approximation: f(x+Δx)≈f(x)+f '(x)Δx or Δy≈f '(x)Δx.In summary, linear approximation can be used when calculating a function at a certain point, but it can be tricky to use because you need to understand the basic concept of derivatives. This problem may seem trivial to you, but to someone who is unfamiliar with the concept, it can be quite difficult.
KFSKSS
Hello. My problem is that I began with Linear Approximation and I'm terribly stuck. I have problems understanding its very concept and with calculations. (It may sound stupid but I'm autodidact and I'm studying mathematics in english (not my mother tongue) and sometimes it gets hard).

It would really help this: In the book I'm using in the exercises there's one that says "Using linear approximation, find an approximate value for the following quantities" one of those quantities is (2.94)^4. The solution must be 74.52. The problem is that I don't know how to use the equations. I know what they mean though. It's annoying.
If you could just solve this so I can see how you do it and learn it I would really appreciate it.
Linear Approximation: f(x+Δx)≈f(x)+f '(x)Δx or Δy≈f '(x)Δx.
Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
KFSKSS said:
Hello. My problem is that I began with Linear Approximation and I'm terribly stuck. I have problems understanding its very concept and with calculations. (It may sound stupid but I'm autodidact and I'm studying mathematics in english (not my mother tongue) and sometimes it gets hard).

It would really help this: In the book I'm using in the exercises there's one that says "Using linear approximation, find an approximate value for the following quantities" one of those quantities is (2.94)^4. The solution must be 74.52. The problem is that I don't know how to use the equations. I know what they mean though. It's annoying.