New to Planes, understanding them.

• Thread starter DOCMUR
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Planes
In summary, planes are 2D sections of grid that have no thickness and cannot exist in real space. However, they are used in math to help visualize and solve problems, such as calculating the surface area of a sphere. Paint cans also use 2D measurements to determine the amount of paint needed for a given surface area.
DOCMUR
Hello

I'm a grade 12 math student at WCI and I need some help with planes.
As I understand it planes are 2D sections of grid. 2D sections of grid can't exist in real space because they have no thickness. How can anyone need to use something that has no thickness, why can we ever imagine it.

Physics news on Phys.org
it's just like a line. a cube has length, width & depth. a plane has length & width, but no depth. a line only has length, no width or depth. a point doesn't have anything.

think of it as a thin imaginary sheet of space dividing one side of a 3 dimensional space from another.

think of it this way:

say i have a sphere made of metal. i want to paint the surface of that sphere, but i want to know exactly how much paint i will need. well, the amount of paint that i need will be equal to the surface area of the sphere.

notice that the surface giving me my surface area is 2D. Of course, the paint will have some thickness, but the surface area does not.

so there is a real-life situation where 2D works. on paint cans you will usually find a table showing how much paint you will need (volume) for such-and-such square feet (area).

Related to New to Planes, understanding them.

What is the difference between a plane and a helicopter?

A plane is a fixed-wing aircraft that uses forward motion and lift generated by its wings to stay in the air. A helicopter, on the other hand, uses rotating blades to generate lift and can hover in place.

How do planes fly?