New to the method of steepest descent

• Thread starter Beer-monster
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Method
In summary, the conversation discusses the best approach for integrating the function \int_{-\infty}^{+\infty} dx e^{\frac{ax^{2}}{2}}e^{ln[2cosh(b+cx)]} using the method of steepest descent. The speaker is unsure whether to expand the x squared term or the ln(cosh) term, and if the latter, how to proceed with the Taylor series expansion. They also mention uncertainty about whether to integrate or substitute complex variables.
Beer-monster

Homework Statement

I'm new to this approximation method and was wondering the best way to proceed with this function:

[tex] \int_{-\infty}^{+\infty} dx e^{\frac{ax^{2}}{2}}e^{ln[2cosh(b+cx)]} [/tex]

I've found the saddle point (I think). But I was wondering if it would be best to expand the x squared term or the ln(cosh) term. If the latter, should I expand the cosh as a taylor series to get ln(expanded cosh) and then expand the logarithm (of the expanded cosh?) and simplify the result?.

Thanks for your help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Sorry--I'm not quite sure what the problem you're trying to answer is.

I'm not quite sure how to integraye this function using the method of steepest descent. Usually you have a function of a complex variable, which this is not.

And often examples show only one exponential function where I have a product of two, so I'm not 100% which is the more rapidly varying one (i.e. which function do I expand as a Taylor series).

I went ahead and worked with the ln(cosh) function, and calculated its derivatives to get the Taylor series to 2nd order. Now I'm not sure how to move forward? Do I just integrate or do I need to substitute complex variables?

1. What is the method of steepest descent?