Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Nominations Welcomed for Fundamental Physics Prize

  1. Oct 21, 2012 #1
    Online nominations are now being accepted for the 2013 Fundamental Physics Prize. If you haven't heard of this new initiative, see http://www.fundamentalphysicsprize.org/news1 [Broken].

    The full information is included below.

    Thank you for your time,

    Rob Meyer

    Online Nominations for the 2013 Fundamental Physics Prize and the New Horizons in Physics Prize are Open

    Nominations for the 2013 prizes will be accepted through November 20, 2012.

    The electronic nomination form is available at http://www.fundamentalphysicsprize.org.

    “This is a tremendous opportunity to recognize the highest levels of achievement in physics,” said Nima Arkani-Hamed, a 2012 laureate. “We look forward to receiving nominations for outstanding candidates ranging across all areas of the field.”


    The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to advancing our knowledge of the Universe at the deepest level by awarding annual prizes for scientific breakthroughs, as well as communicating the excitement of fundamental physics to the public.

    The value of the Fundamental Physics Prize — $3 million — is the largest in the academic world. Nine exceptional scientists were inaugural recipients of the award in July 2012: Nima Arkani-Hamed, Alan Guth, Alexei Kitaev, Maxim Kontsevich, Andrei Linde, Juan Maldacena, Nathan Seiberg, Ashoke Sen and Edward Witten.

    In the future, a new Fundamental Physics Prize laureate will be announced at an annual ceremony, along with up to three winners of the New Horizons in Physics Prize, a $100,000 award that will be given to promising young researchers.

    Each prize winner will be drawn from a group nominated by the scientific community and voted on by the Selection Committee, which is comprised of prior recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize.
    Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 22, 2012 #2

    Doc Al

    User Avatar

    Staff: Mentor

    Moderator's Note: This announcement was cleared by PF staff before posting.
Share this great discussion with others via Reddit, Google+, Twitter, or Facebook