Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

NOOB QUESTION: What kind of resistor do I need?

1. Jun 3, 2012 #1
    First off.. this is my first attempt playing with this kind of stuff.. please have a bit of patience with me :)

I'm looking to make a costume out of LEDs for burningman.. bought a 1000 of them off ebay and when I connect them the 9V battery i'm guessing is too strong for it and burns the LED out.

is it possible to run say 500 LEDs off of 1 9V battery?

These are the specs of my LEDs (which is another language to me)

WLD : 465-470 NM

IV: 8000-10000 MCD

VF: 3.4 -3.6V

please advise. thanks :)

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 3, 2012 #2

Bobbywhy

Gold Member

MikieCGY, Welcome to Physics Forums!

It appears you have the blue LEDs made by China Young Sun LED Technical Co., LTD. Their model (part) number is YSL-R1042B5C-D13. The specification sheet is available at:
    http://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Components/LED/Blue-10mm.pdf

The LED’s output wavelength, intensity, and forward voltage you mentioned were measured with a current of 80 milliamperes flowing through it. The suggested operating current is 65-75 mA, which would consume 180 milliwatts of power.

Using your 9 Volt battery, to energize one LED you would use a 120 ohm resistor in series with the LED (between the battery and the LED) to limit the current to around 70 mA.

No, you cannot run 500 LEDs off one 9 battery! A typical alkaline 9 V battery has the capacity of 565 mAhr, meaning it can supply 565 milliamps for one hour. So if you connected eight circuits like the one described above in parallel they would operate for about one hour. You will have to either use bigger batteries or fewer LEDs, or both. Have a good time!

p.s. I went to Burningman in 1982 and had a fantastic experience! I wore a ball cap with a solar cell powering a tiny dc motor with a plastic propeller on top.