Not sure where to go from here

• Thread starter couldbeworse
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is majoring in mathematics, mathematical physics, and mathematical statistics, but is unsure why they are doing it. They enjoy learning these subjects, but do not see themselves pursuing a career in them. They believe mathematical statistics is useful for any career and enjoy the problem-solving aspect of physics. They are not confident in their abilities compared to their peers and wish they could continue learning in college. The speaker also mentions the idea of early retirement and living a more fulfilling life by saving and being financially independent. They suggest auditing classes and solving problems for fun instead of being stuck in the "rat race" of working until retirement.
couldbeworse
I'm majoring in mathematics, mathematical physics, and mathematical statistics. Aside from the fact that I'm triple majoring for the cost of one major and two minors (an example of my school not being good at organizing course requirements), I don't know why I'm doing any of this.

The fact of the matter is that I don't think I want to do math beyond analysis EVER as a job. Abstract algebra, topology... they're really, really fun to learn, but not fun at all to do repeatedly, if that makes any sense. In fact, I'm only a math major because I think it's fun to LEARN. Not so much to spend my life doing. It's like someone who's only taking the course to enjoy the "popular science" part of it, but finds regular popular science to lack sufficient rigor.

As for mathematical statistics, I think it is an incredibly useful skill no matter what I do in life. Much like how people exercise despite not liking it, I choose to major in mathematical statistics. Also, statistics is not too bad; it ties really well into modeling systems, a type of problem solving I always found really cool about quantitative courses in general.