Ohm's law (i.e., I forgot my Algebra)

In summary, the conversation discusses the formula for resistance in a parallel circuit, which is given by R0=1/(1/R1) + (1/R2) = (R1 x R2)/(R1 + R2). It is explained that this formula is used because the current can flow in multiple paths in a parallel circuit, making it necessary to use the inverse of the sum of the individual resistances. The conversation also mentions that this formula can be simplified for just two resistors to Rt = (R1*R2) / (R1 + R2). It is clarified that this formula only applies to parallel circuits, and that for series circuits, the formula is simply Rt = R1 + R2. The conversation
ASEmech
I'm an ASE certified Technician specializing in Brakes and Four-wheel Alignments. I'm going to go for my cert. in Electrical systems this fall. As I began my self-study in electrical systems, I realized...I forgot my Algebra.

I'm currently studying Ohm's Law. Within Ohm's Law, I'm studying Resistance in a parallel circuit. The formula I'm given is:

R0=1/(1/R1) + (1/R2) = (R1 x R2)/(R1 + R2)

...where R0 (read R-sub0) is a combination of resistances R-sub1 and R-sub2.

I thought the sum of the resistances in any circuit was R0=R1+R2. Why is 1 divided by (1/R1) + (1/R2) and in the "denominator portion" of the formula, why is 1 divided by R1 (same question for 1 divided by R2) and then added to 1/R2? Also, how do you get from R0=1/(1/R1) + (1/R2) to (R1 x R2)/(R1 + R2)?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
For resistors in series Rt = R1 + R2
In parallel it's 1/Rt = 1/R1 + 1/R2

For just a pair of resistors you can simplify this to
Rt = (R1*R2) / (R1 + R2)

This thread probably belongs in the EE forum.
Anyway,

[itex]R_{tot}=R_1+R_2 [/itex] is only correct if the resistors are connected in series. In
a parallell ciruit the current can flow in several branches at once which is why you need to use the [itex]1/R_{tot}=1/R_1+...[/itex] formula.