Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Ohm's law (i.e., I forgot my Algebra)

1. Jan 25, 2009 #1
    I'm an ASE certified Technician specializing in Brakes and Four-wheel Alignments. I'm going to go for my cert. in Electrical systems this fall. As I began my self-study in electrical systems, I realized.....I forgot my Algebra.

I'm currently studying Ohm's Law. Within Ohm's Law, I'm studying Resistance in a parallel circuit. The formula I'm given is:

R0=1/(1/R1) + (1/R2) = (R1 x R2)/(R1 + R2)

.....where R0 (read R-sub0) is a combination of resistances R-sub1 and R-sub2.

I thought the sum of the resistances in any circuit was R0=R1+R2. Why is 1 divided by (1/R1) + (1/R2) and in the "denominator portion" of the formula, why is 1 divided by R1 (same question for 1 divided by R2) and then added to 1/R2? Also, how do you get from R0=1/(1/R1) + (1/R2) to (R1 x R2)/(R1 + R2)?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 25, 2009 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

For resistors in series Rt = R1 + R2
    In parallel it's 1/Rt = 1/R1 + 1/R2

For just a pair of resistors you can simplify this to
    Rt = (R1*R2) / (R1 + R2)

4. Jan 25, 2009 #3

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

This thread probably belongs in the EE forum.
    Anyway,

[itex]R_{tot}=R_1+R_2 [/itex] is only correct if the resistors are connected in series. In
    a parallell ciruit the current can flow in several branches at once which is why you need to use the [itex]1/R_{tot}=1/R_1+...[/itex] formula.