Overcoming Burnout: Tips for Struggling Physics Students

• Studying
  • Thread starter Mulz
  • Start date
In summary, the individual is a third-year physics student seeking advice on managing their situation. They often experience a lack of motivation and have difficulty studying, particularly when it comes to labs and actively reading course material. They suspect there may be something wrong with their brain and are considering dropping the course, but are also open to other advice such as forming a study group or getting tutoring. The individual believes that the difficulties they are facing in their junior year are similar to those experienced by a 6th or 9th grader taking 12th grade material, and they are seeking ways to overcome this challenge.
Mulz
I'm currently in my third year of physics and need advice on how to manage my situation.

I tend to always crash once or twice a year, unable to gain motivation to study. Currently, I'm probably in one. For the whole duration of my current course, I have not done much at all and the exam is in around 10 days. For the labs we had, I was not really active and I had to ask a lot of questions in order to get along with them. Writing the science reports was not an issue but the performing of the labs were a nightmare because I didn't prepare myself. I just didn't have the motivation.

I'm not sure why I'm getting burned out. Maybe it's because of poor study habits. I'm very slow at reading compared to others and very little gets stuck in my head, that means I have to exert much more effort to learn the same material as others. I studied a lot last semester and I got good grades. It's probably because I don't feel like putting a lot of time.