Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Parallel/Series DPDT With MOSFETs Help?

1. Feb 19, 2017 #1
    Hi everyone, semi beginner here looking for a little help wiring this system. I am looking to use MOSFETs to handle higher current levels and a DPDT switch with toggle between on+off/series/parallel configuration. My idea for the wiring is here:
    IR3YAyX.png
    However I am not sure how to go about wiring the MOSFETs in with the DPDT, any help with a wiring diagram or education is greatly appreciated, here to both do and learn!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 19, 2017 #2

rbelli1

Gold Member

Can you explain what you are connecting in parallel and series? It it the batteries or a pair or loads? Why is a switch no good for this?

BoB

4. Feb 19, 2017 #3
    Im connecting them in parallel and series so the person can pick which type they would like to use. This is for a friends birthday present so the series option would be for 8.4v, 30-40 amps, the parallel option would be 4.2v 30-40 amps. Its an electronic cigarette/vape where the user can build a coil to a specific resistance in order to benefit from both options (lower for parallel vs higher resistance builds for series)

The DPDT switches I have found that are small enough to fit within the ~3x5x1 enclosure max out at 20 amps so I was looking to use MOSFETs to handle the current/load.

5. Feb 20, 2017 #4

rbelli1

Gold Member

That circuit will be a lot more complicated than just hooking up some wires. Also with those kinds of loads on lithium ion batteries it can get real explody real fast if you don't know what you are doing.

BoB

6. Feb 20, 2017 #5
    Correct and he knows what hes doing in terms of controlling amp draw via resistance coils, my concern was using gates on MOSFETs to handle the amperage through the DPDT switch

7. Feb 22, 2017 #6

Baluncore

Science Advisor