Plate four points bending equation for a plate

In summary: Roark. In summary, you may be able to solve the problem analytically using principles from a theory of plates and shells, but it would require a more modern book.
pierebean
Hello,

I am no mechanical engineer and my knowledge in bending is limited to Euler-Bernouilli beam theory.

I wish to analytically calculate the normal stress of a plate bent by four points bending. I have already calculated this stress for a beam.

However I cannot apply the beam theory to a plate.

Does someone know a tutorial or an article giving specifically the four-points bending of a plate and its solution?

Thank you

Engineering news on Phys.org
pierebean said:
Hello,

I am no mechanical engineer and my knowledge in bending is limited to Euler-Bernouilli beam theory.

I wish to analytically calculate the normal stress of a plate bent by four points bending. I have already calculated this stress for a beam.

However I cannot apply the beam theory to a plate.

Does someone know a tutorial or an article giving specifically the four-points bending of a plate and its solution?

Thank you
:eek: That's a tough one that i don't think even Roarke's Stress and Strain covers. This old timer took graduate courses in Theory of Plates and Theory of Elasticity eons ago. All I remember is a bunch of unsolvable partial differential equations.
Stay away from square or rectangular plates supported on 4 corners. Consider a statically determinate circular plate instead, supported at 3 equidistant simple supports, then get a copy of Roark's book. Beyond that, i cannot help, sorry.

Well Roark's is definately the go to book but like PhantomJay I don't remember seeing that in there but you never know.

My solution would be use FEA. I know you won't get an analytical solution but you may be able to validate it via a simple experiment.

"Theory of Plates and Shells", Timoshenko & Krieger

Article 49, p 218 in my copy