Power Set Unions and inclusion

In summary, this proof is making the user think and trying different approaches. The user is having trouble proving the contrapositive but is hopeful.
Kolmin
I am studying Velleman's "How to prove it: a structured approach" and I have to say that it is one of the best decision I have taken. Right now I am working on the exercises that are on Velleman's page along with the java applet "Proof Designer" and I have the feeling I start to get a bit how proofs work. But still...

This proof is really making me think and I don't see how I can get out of it.

Assume [itex]\wp[/itex](A)[itex]\cup[/itex][itex]\wp[/itex](B)=[itex]\wp[/itex](A[itex]\cup[/itex]B)
Prove that A[itex]\subseteq[/itex]B or B[itex]\subseteq[/itex]A.
[Suggested Exercise no.20]

I have to admit I tried basically everything (i.e. contradiction, cases) but I don't really go anywhere close to the solution.

For example, proof designer asks you to define a bounded variable if it is in the "given" section. I rephrase [itex]\wp[/itex](A)[itex]\cup[/itex][itex]\wp[/itex](B)=[itex]\wp[/itex](A[itex]\cup[/itex]B) and I don't know how to define the subset X of A and B (out of desperation I put X=A but doesn't look a great idea).

Still I am not sure if it is a matter of not knowing how to properly use the software (which is actually quite easy) or I simply don't know how to work out the proof.

Physics news on Phys.org
How does your contradiction look?

Tried to use Venn Diagram?? It really helps in visualizing the sets, their union, intersections, etc.

Kolmin said:
I am studying Velleman's "How to prove it: a structured approach" and I have to say that it is one of the best decision I have taken. Right now I am working on the exercises that are on Velleman's page along with the java applet "Proof Designer" and I have the feeling I start to get a bit how proofs work. But still...

This proof is really making me think and I don't see how I can get out of it.