Preparing for Physics GRE: Intuition vs Memorization

In summary, the expert feels that memorization of formulas and equations is not as important as memorizing commonly used constants and solving difficult problems from old exams.
tburke2
I am in my third year of ungrad physics and am preparing to take the physics GRE. I've never really memorized formulas or needed to regurgitate anything besides the most basic mathematical axioms. I have learned physics almost completely intuitively, I have a pretty bad memory for exact formulas or equations. I try to explain a concept in words and relate it to earlier concepts and justify why. When calculations are needed I usually just re-derive the equation or look it up if I'm feeling lazy. This has worked very well for me so far (sometimes I just have to accept ideas in things like quantum or relativity without understanding why) but I'm running into a real problem preparing for the PGRE. I have about as many formulas memorized as a high schooler taking basic physics and I certainly don't have enough time to derive or even really think about the questions. Does anyone have any suggestions? I feel like memorization is not the way physics education should be approached but I doubt grad school admissions would be sympathetic.

Physics news on Phys.org
Most people are in the same boat as you - knowing the system is flawed, but still forced to jump through the hoops. Fortunately, intuition can help one rule out some (if not all) of the incorrect answers on most questions - dimensional analysis and limiting cases will carry you further than you think. It's not so important to memorize exact equations as it is to memorize forms of equations - you might now remember the exact form of the Fermi-Dirac and Bose-Einstein distributions, but you might remember that the former has addition in the denominator and the other has subtraction, and that would help you more than you know.