Pressure-temperature graph without zero y-intercept

• Thread starter robcowen
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Graph Zero
In summary, the conversation was about a high school physics teacher conducting an experiment using a manometer to measure the pressure of air in a boiling tube. The teacher recorded the head difference in mm and converted it to metres using the pressure formula. They also added the local atmospheric pressure to get the absolute pressure of the air. However, the results did not match the theoretical pressure and the teacher was puzzled. Possible sources of error were discussed, including using a boiling tube as a gas reservoir and using a thermometer in the water bath instead of in the boiling tube. The teacher also shared their updated calculations and equipment used. One suggestion was to use a mercury-filled manometer instead of one filled with water to get a more accurate reading.
robcowen
I am a high school physics teacher and I've been trying out an experiment for my students. I used a manometer (a plastic tube in a U-shape partially filled with water) to measure the pressure of the air in a boiling tube. I placed the boiling tube into a beaker of water and varied the temperature. I recorded the head difference in mm and converted this to metres.

I used (pressure = density of water x 9.81 x head) to work out the pressure (relative to atmospheric pressure). I then added the local atmospheric pressure (sourced from BBC Weather in millibars and converted to Pa) to the relative pressure to get the absolute pressure of the air.

I plotted a graph of temperature (in Kelvin) against absolute pressure (in Pa) and got a nice straight line relationship. However, my y-intercept should be at zero, according to the ideal gas laws, but is actually crossing at around 90,000 Pa.