Purpose of insulating furnaces

• Thread starter sriram123
  • Start date
In summary, an insulator like wool or brick slows the rate at which heat leaves the body, allowing for a constant temperature in a furnace.
sriram123
Hello all,

I'm going to ask something that some people may even feel the dumb

I want to know why we insulate furnaces and moulds in plastic processing.

I know that during steady state heat transfer, the heat generated or conducted =heat getting or leaving the body.

And the heat flowing out depends upon the temperature difference between the body and ambient temperature.

So what does an insulator like wool or brick does during steady state heat transfer,

Will it reduce the temperature difference so that only less heat will flow out of the body and the remainder will be used for some application.(like heating something for a furnace)?

Sorry if i am asking something very basic or so.

I'm not an engineer,just a guy with 3 months experience in a foundry

Physics news on Phys.org
sriram123 said:
And the heat flowing out depends upon the temperature difference between the body and ambient temperature.

AND the heat transfer coefficient of anything in between, and it's thickness. So if you put an insulator which conducts heat poorly, and you make it thick, then the heat will flow slowly.

If you look at heat conducted through the walls the equation for the power loss is something like...

Power = Constant * Surface Area * (Tin - Tout) / Thickness

Surface Area = the area of the furnace
Thickness = thickness of the insulation.
Constant = Thermal conductivity of the insulation

Different materials have different thermal conductivity. Copper is a good condustor of heat, where as Silica Aerogel is a poor conductor or heat (eg a good insulator).

I want to know why we insulate furnaces and moulds in plastic processing.

I know that during steady state heat transfer, the heat generated or conducted =heat getting or leaving the body.