Pursuing Pharmacy, Math & Biology: Career Advice

• Thread starter BoundByAxioms
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Career
In summary, the individual is an undergraduate student majoring in mathematics and biology with a desire to become a pharmacist. However, their family and some professors have suggested exploring a career in researching, which the individual finds intriguing. They enjoy the idea of being a pharmacist due to their interest in fixing problems with medicine and their fascination with the human body. They also appreciate the salary and hours of a pharmacist. The conversation also mentions the use of automation in pharmacies and suggests exploring biochemistry and microbiology for potential intersections with pharmacy and the individual's interests in math and biology.
BoundByAxioms
I'm an undergraduate student who is majoring in both mathematics and biology. Ever since High School, I've wanted to be a pharmacist but have recently been encouraged to not "close the doors" on other career paths. My family and some of my professors have told me that I'd find a career in researching much more interesting than a career in pharmacy. I've liked the idea of being a pharmacist due to my fascination of being able to fix problems with medicine, and my overall enjoyment of the human body and the study of it. Also, I like the salary and hours of a pharmacist. However, I also really enjoy mathematics, and am curious as to how I could combine my interests in mathematics and biology. Can anyone offer any insight?

Physics news on Phys.org