Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

QCD vacuum and anomaly [Axions]

1. Nov 6, 2014 #1

ChrisVer

Gold Member

I am studying this paper about the strong CP problem and axions by R.D. Peccei:
    http://arxiv.org/abs/hep-ph/0607268
    At the moment I read through the introduction and I have some questions about some points, so please could you help me clear out some things?. [In general I'll try to feed back this thread with more questions around the topic].

#1. It says that for massless quarks, and 2 light quarks [for QCD scale] we have an approximate global symmetry [itex]U[2]_V \times U[2]_A [/itex], so a vector and axial current symmetry. However if I look at the massless lagrangian [just the kinetic term] I have:
    [itex] \mathcal{L}= i \bar{q} \gamma^\mu \partial_\mu q [/itex]
    What are the transformations done for the U[1] cases? I think the axial will have something like [itex]\propto \exp[ia \gamma_5][/itex]. In that case I don't see how the [itex] \exp[-ia \gamma_5] \gamma^\mu \exp[ia \gamma_5]= \gamma^\mu[/itex] (it's not even a symmetry for the massless lagrangian)

#2. In Eq 1: I am having a problem in seeing that the triangle chiral anomaly gives rise to a divergence to the axial current of the form: [itex] \partial_\mu J^\mu_5 = g F^{\mu \nu}_a \tilde{F}_{a \mu \nu}[/itex]. Do you have any source where I can see how does someone extract this result?

#3. In Eq 7: The gauge transformation of [itex]A[/itex] goes like:
    [itex]A^i \rightarrow \Omega A^i \Omega ^{-1} + \frac{i}{g} \nabla^i \Omega \Omega^{-1}[/itex]
    I think the second term is zero ([itex]\Omega \Omega^{-1}=1[/itex]) or does it mean that [itex](\nabla^i \Omega ) \Omega^{-1}[/itex]. Then, also why does it give to the Omegas a spatial dependence ([itex]\textbf{r}[/itex])?