What Causes Quantum Foam to Form at a Sub-Planck Level?

• Thread starter artkin76
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Quantum
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of quantum foam and its implications for the smoothness of spacetime at a sub-Planck level. The participants question the cause of this phenomenon and the accuracy of current explanations. It is noted that the behavior of spacetime at short distances is still largely speculative due to the challenges of quantizing gravity.
artkin76
Initially I want to let everyone know that I came across these forums recently after searching for further information regarding various topics of theoretical physics, quantum mechanics, etc. and am astounded by the wealth of information here. I am very new to these ideas and am just beginning to grasp all the concepts involved.

My question is regarding quantum foam. I understand what is meant by the term (to the best of my ability at least). The way I understand it, as we talk about spacetime at a sub-Planck level, the 'smoothness' of it as described by General Relativity is replaced by a turbulent array of particles that crate enough energy (and therefore mass) to curve spacetime in drastic and decidedly 'unsmooth' ways.

First, is this admittedly simple explanation close in describing quantum foam?

Second, why does this happen? Is it because as distances get smaller and smaller, the corresponding wavelengths of particles (in the particle-wave duality sense) get shorter and shorter thereby creating more energy and therefore curving spacetime more dramatically?

Again, this is all very new to me. I was a government/history guy in college, never took any sort of high level physics class. Feel free to rip apart anything I've said.

Physics news on Phys.org
Can you get sub-planck level. I thought any particles smaller than Planck's Length would have so much energy that they are in side a black hole.