Question related to the Lorentz Invariance

1. I have a question related to the Lorentz invariance.

(on the book of Mark Srednicki Quantum Field Theory, page 35 prob. 2.9 c)

There are representations of [itex]\Lambda[/itex] and S.

In order to show that result of problem, I use number of two ways.

1. I expanded [itex]\Lambda[/itex] to infinitesimal form using Taylor expansion.
    2. Just original shape of exponential form.

When I inserted values of S^12, the first method gives me that the value is 0.(by specific element, that is rho = 0, tau =1) But the second method gives me that the value is 1.

The correct answer is 0. because most of components are 0 except for middle row and middle column(2x2). I can't understand this discrepancy. Please explain this error.

(Sorry about that I can't use Latex. because I'm a novice of this web site..)

2. jcsd
  3. you don't have to use infinitesimal expansions... Just use the series form for the exponential:

[itex] e^{A} = \sum_{n} \frac{A^{n}}{n!}[/itex]

I use [itex] \hbar =1 [/itex] although it doesn't matter to state since you can also rename [itex]S^{12} \equiv \frac{1}{\hbar} S^{12}[/itex] and using the appropriate form for [itex]S^{12}[/itex] repr, as I do below - no hbar, all to keep exponential argument dimensionless. Also some expressions might look terrible, but if you are accustomed to these calculations, you can jump them - i just did everything almost explicitly because I don't know you.

[itex] e^{-i \theta S^{12}} = \sum_{n} \frac{(-i \theta S^{12})^{n}}{n!}[/itex]

[itex]e^{-i \theta S^{12}} = 1_{4 \times 4} + \sum_{p=1} (-i)^{2p} (S^{12})^{2p} (\frac{\theta}{2p!})^{2p}+\sum_{p=0} (-i)^{2p+1} (S^{12})^{2p+1} (\frac{\theta}{2p+1!})^{2p+1} [/itex]