Should I Apply to Physics or Biophysics PhD Programs as an Applied Math Major?

In summary, a senior undergraduate student with a 3.73 GPA in overall and a 4.0 GPA in physics is planning to apply for a PhD program in computational biophysics. They have 3 research experiences and programming skills in various languages. They have concerns about their major in applied math and whether it will affect their chances of being accepted into a PhD program. They are also unsure whether to apply to physics departments or biophysics departments for their PhD. The conversation concludes with a suggestion to network and make connections with potential advisors to increase their chances of getting accepted.
strangequark
Ok, I know there has probably been a vast number of posts exactly like this one, but...

I'm a senior undergrad at a california state university and will be applying to grad school this semester. Preferably I want to get into a PhD program in computational biophysics, specifically I'm interested in computational studies of protein/enzyme structure and dynamics (like folding and signaling). I have a 3.73 overall gpa and a 4.0 in physics, and I've also done 3 research programs (in microbiology, mathematical biology and chemical physics). Though I've presented posters at 3 conferences, I've no publications (yet). Also, I haven't taken GRE's yet, but don't plan to do exceptionally well. I also have ALOT of programming experience (C, C++, Fortran, perl, charmm, namd/vmd, mathematica, matlab).

My first question is, as an applied math major (physics minor) will Ph D programs be hesitant to accept me? I'm not expecting to get into MIT or harvard, but somewhere?

Second, would I be better off applying to physics departments who have faculty doing research in biophysics (recommendations?) or to biophysics departments (there aren't many)?

Thanks for your input/suggestions.

Physics news on Phys.org