Rank mismatch and incompatible ranks 1 and 2

• Fortran
  • Thread starter astroastro
  • Start date
  • Tags
    rank
In summary, there are two errors in the code provided. The first error is due to incompatible ranks in the assignment, possibly caused by a typo in the declaration of the array. The second error is due to a mismatch in array references, which may also be related to the typo in the array declaration. Correcting the typo by using a comma instead of a colon in the array declaration should resolve these errors.
astroastro
Hi I'm completely new in fortran programming and I just ran this code
program array_test
implicit none
integer, parameter :: row = 3, column = 4
integer :: i, j
integer, dimension(row: column) :: array2
open(1, file = "matrix.txt")
array2 = reshape((/1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12/),(/row,column/))
do i = 1, row
write(1, "(12i5)") (array2(i, j), j = 1, column)
enddo
end program

and I get these errors :
7 Incompatible ranks in 1 and 2 in assignment
9 ranks mismatch in array reference (2/1)
can u help me out?!

Technology news on Phys.org
It looks like you have a typo in the declaration of your array.

You have "dimension(row:column)" ...(notice the colon character ": ") this means that it is a one dimensional array where valid indeces will be from "row" to "column", inclusive.

What you probably meant to do was "dimension(row, column)"...(notice the comma) this means that it is a 2 dimensional array where the valid indeces for each dimension start in the default of 1 and go up to and including the number provided, "row" for the 1st dimension; "column" for the 2nd.

What is a rank mismatch?

A rank mismatch occurs when two or more variables or data sets have different levels of measurement or scales. This can lead to difficulties in analyzing the data accurately.

What are incompatible ranks 1 and 2?