Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Sailboat rudder physics, and water flow estimate

1. Feb 18, 2016 #1
    Hi. I'm a computer science student developing a kalman filter for autonomous sailboat, but I severely lack knowledge of the physics behind sailboats. I have a wind sensor giving data about wind speed and wind velocity, problem is the data is unreliable.

So i thought that i could estimate what the next value of wind direction would be based upon boat velocity, rudder angle, previous wind direction, previous coordinates (decimal degrees), and boat's compass course.

Sounds easy.. but problem is I don't know what the compass course and wind direction would be after x time.
    Time intervals will be at most 5-10 seconds, to save some processing power. Would this be a circular motion?

What I'm after is some equation that returns a estimate of current state of "rotation/circular motion" in degrees
    of boat caused by rudder angle, where time would be a factor.

Also, is it possible to estimate water flow based upon wind & GPS data?

Last edited: Feb 18, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 18, 2016 #2
    What you are trying to do is extremely complicated. I really don't think you should try the method you are suggesting (predicting the wind). However, for your curiosity you can very easily obtain windspeed and direction data at local weather monitors. This will usually be at least 50 feet above the ground though and will probably be higher than the velocity experienced at sea level / the ground.