Setting myself for living abroad

• Thread starter Lewis
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation revolves around a Canadian undergrad physics student who wants to live in different countries in the future and is seeking advice on the best educational path to achieve this goal. They are considering options such as continuing their studies with a Master's degree or MBA, and also express concerns about how moving around may look to potential employers. They also discuss language skills and the importance of considering hiring policies in different countries. Some suggestions are made, such as applying for a program like IAESTE or doing an exchange through their university. The conversation also touches on the idea of choosing a career, such as accounting, that would allow for frequent travel.
Lewis
I am currently a Canadian undergrad physics student. I would like very much, in the future, to live in Asia, Africa, Australia/New Zealand or Europe (In that order) and I'm wondering what you guys think would be the best educational path to set myself up for a means to live in a foreign country. I'd really want to finish my physics BS, but what should I do after that? M.Sc? MBA? Something else?

My second question is, what do you think is the feasibility of living in one place for a few years, then picking up and moving to another? Would this look bad to employers (Or at least bad enough for them not to hire me?). I suppose I would eventually "settle down" later in life, but while I'm young I want to travel quite a bit.

I would also like to add that I don't have much of an interest in having a lot of money.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I share your sense of adventure - I'm not really keen on sitting in one job for 40 years etc ;)