1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I do measure theory ?

1. May 27, 2010 #1
    Hi All, I am a new phd student in engineering, working in signals analysis in neuroscience who seems to be doing a lot of work in statistics and probability theory. My uni is offering a course in measure theory. The course profile says:

"The course is an introduction to measure theory and Lebesgue integral. A sound knowledge of measure theory and the Lebesgue integral is a starting point to undertake advanced studies in partial differential equations, nonlinear analysis, the calculus of variations and probability theory."

The outcomes of the course are stated as:

"1 Appreciate the central role of sigma-algebras and measure in integration theory;
    2 Work with measurable functions and understand their importance to the definition of the integral;
    3 Work with the properties of the Lebesgue integral;
    4 Generate measures including Stieltjes measures;
    5 Use the relationship between the Riemann and Lebesgue integrals on the real line;
    6 Understand the relationship between of functions of bounded variation and absolute continuity and the role they play in fundamental theorem of integral calculus;
    7 Decompose measures and appreciate the role this decomposition plays in the Radon-Nikodym & Riesz representation theorems;
    8 Gain a working knowledge of function spaces and modes of convergence;
    9 Work with the integral on product spaces using the relationship with repeated integrals;
    10 Apply results from integration theory to other areas of mathematics."

Given that I am not a pure mathematician would it be worth doing this course?

2. jcsd
  3. May 28, 2010 #2