Should I do research my freshman year?

In summary, the author advises a new freshman to attend classes and get acclimated to their new campus before starting research. They advise waiting a quarter or two to see how much time the courses demand and what type of research opportunities might be available. They also advise being reliable, good at grunt work, and having 10-12 hours per week to spare.
Akshat
I'm an incoming freshman to the University of California San Diego as a Materials Science and Nanoengineering major, and I'm interested in doing research. I've been a research assistant for over 5 years at the University of Nebraska Lincoln (2 in biochemistry, 3 in physical chemistry, and 1 in chemical engineering). My most current work revolves around materials which are few atoms thick, like graphene and boron nitride. Is it a wise decision to start research immediately, or should I wait a quarter or two?

Physics news on Phys.org
Akshat said:
I'm an incoming freshman to the University of California San Diego as a Materials Science and Nanoengineering major, and I'm interested in doing research. I've been a research assistant for over 5 years at the University of Nebraska Lincoln (2 in biochemistry, 3 in physical chemistry, and 1 in chemical engineering). My most current work revolves around materials which are few atoms thick, like graphene and boron nitride. Is it a wise decision to start research immediately, or should I wait a quarter or two?

Wait until you get settled, see how much time your courses are demanding and go from there.

What college at UCSD did you get put into?

I'm in Revelle.

Akshat said:
I'm in Revelle.

Ahh, so I would focus on knocking out all those general Ed's first, you have quite a few at Revelle.

You'll be more useful for research and have a better understanding of how things work after your first year. That would probably be an idea time to look into research oppertunities.

I was also at Revelle, but as a transfer. :)