1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I take modern(abstract) algebra or topology first?

1. Nov 13, 2011 #1
    Hi, I am trying to decide whether I should take a modern algebra or topology course next semester. I have a bachelor's in physics but I have not taken very many higher math classes. This is a list of the relevant classes I have taken.

Calculus (up through partial differential equations)
    elementary linear algebra (not very theoretical)
    geometry (loaded with proofs, senior class)
    Set theory and logic

Set theory and logic, and geometry were two of my favorite class in college, and I did very well in geometry and would have done very well in set theory and logic if I had not been taking so many classes then. I am going to apply for a master's/phd in math but I need to take several classes by correspondence before I do so. Right now I could either take modern algebra or topology first, but I am not really sure which one to take first. If it is any help I am going to take classes through UCR (University of California, Riverside).

Also if anyone has a good suggestion on a book that will help me to get a head start I would appreciate the suggestion. I have been studying my calculus book from college the last couple of months but want to review more of the higher math stuff. A few books I have found are.

Set Theory and Logic by Robert R. Stoll
    Elements of Logic via Numbers and Sets by Johnson (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series)
    Introductory Mathematics: Algebra and Analysis by Geoffrey C. Smith

I of course have heard about Spivok's Calculus and "Baby Rudin" but I thought I would put those off a couple of months.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 14, 2011 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor