1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Should only people from elite universities bother with TT (tenure track)?

Tags:
  1. Feb 28, 2017 #1
    I hope my question doesn't sound bitter, it's not meant to be, I'm just a grad student wanting to get some opinions on how things are. I'm especially interested in hearing from people outside academia as well, since I assume people *within* academia might have an unrealistic view of what the career path is like these days vs. what it was like when there were far far more academia jobs.

Given the horrible job market in academia, and the relative over-abundance of physics PhDs out there, is the old-fashioned goal of getting a professorship at a research university something that only people from Caltech, Princeton, etc. should bother with? Or should somebody like me, from a school with no real physics reputation, with an advisor notable in his little niche, set my sights more on industry jobs? What do you think? I'm in my third year, if that helps.

No bitterness intended, hoping for some good answers and discussion. Thanks!

EDIT:

I found this article: http://www.slate.com/articles/life/...et_your_ph_d_at_an_elite_university_good.html

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 28, 2017 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I'm assuming TT refers to tenure track?

4. Feb 28, 2017 #3
    Yes :biggrin:

5. Feb 28, 2017 #4

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Industry, in the time you are slaving away at the possibility of a tenure track position and actually getting tenure, you'll make 1-1.5 million dollars that you'll never ever make up in academia.

6. Mar 1, 2017 #5