Should You Pursue a PhD in Science?

• Thread starter Tallus Bryne
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Scientist
In summary, Professor Katz discourages students from pursuing PhDs in physics, and he believes that having lots of PhDs makes scientists more elite. He also recommends twofish-quant's and ParticleGrl's posts.
Tallus Bryne
"Don't Become a Scientist!"

First of all, I'd like to say that I'm an undergraduate physics student in Florida. I would like to go on to get a PhD in physics, but my knowledge on what to expect after that is quite limited. A friend of mine recently sent me an article written by Jonathan I. Katz, a professor of physics at Washington University, St. Louis, Mo. It is called "Don't Become a Scientist!"(http://wuphys.wustl.edu/~katz/scientist.html ). In the article, Professor Katz not only discourages students from pursuing PhDs in physics but also from pursuing science-focused PhD's in general. To anyone willing to take time to read the article, I would like to hear your opinion on the subject. For those of you who actually have or are attempting to get your PhD, I'd appreciate your point of view on this, especially. I'd rather a realistic perspective over a pessimistic one, and with this author it's hard to discern the realistic from the pessimistic. The best way I know how to achieve this is to seek out the people in this specific position themselves.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
There have been similar discussions like https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=576359.