1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Showing that Laplace's equation holds

1. Jan 23, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

(From Plonsey, R. and R. C. Barr, "Bioelectricity: A Quantitative Approach")

Show
    [tex] \nabla^2 r = 0 [/tex]
    given
    [tex] r = \sqrt{x^2 + y^2 + z^2}. [/tex]

2. Relevant equations
    [tex] \nabla = \frac{\partial}{\partial x}{\bf i} + \frac{\partial}{\partial y}{\bf j} + \frac{\partial}{\partial z}{\bf k} [/tex] (the "abuse of notation")

3. The attempt at a solution

This is my first attempt at a post on this forum, and I'm embarrassed to say I'm really struggling with this question. (Not a homework problem per se, just an in-text side note). It has been a good while since I've studied vector calculus, so if somebody could point out my error, I would appreciate it.

Beginning with
    [tex]
    \begin{equation}
    r = (x^2 + y^2 + z^2)^{1/2}
    \end{equation}
    [/tex]
    taking the gradient results in
    [tex]
    \begin{equation}
    \begin{aligned}
    \nabla r &= \frac{\partial r}{\partial x} {\bf i} + \frac{\partial r}{\partial y} {\bf j} + \frac{\partial r}{\partial z} {\bf k} \\
    &= \left[ \frac{x}{(x^2 + y^2 + z^2)^{1/2}} \right]{\bf i} + \left[ \frac{y}{(x^2 + y^2 + z^2)^{1/2}} \right]{\bf j} + \left[ \frac{z}{(x^2 + y^2 + z^2)^{1/2}} \right]{\bf k}.
    \end{aligned}
    \end{equation}
    [/tex]
    Now taking the divergence of this gradient [itex] - [/itex] which amounts cumulatively to taking the Laplacian of [itex] r - [/itex] gives
    [tex]
    \begin{equation}
    \begin{aligned}
    \nabla \cdot \nabla r &= \nabla^2 r \\