Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Side impellers on a yoyo

1. Sep 27, 2012 #1
    Well i know this sounds silly but I think that impellers on the sides of a yoyo would give greater stability than the current hollow ones.( Just to give you an idea of the type of yoyo's I'm talking about: http://shop.yoyoexpert.com/product/162/Juggernaut [Broken]). I haven't started a cad model as I don't really have time to waste on a fruitless effort considering how close midterms are.

Basically the idea is that the impeller would suck air in from the side face of the yoyo and blow out from the side. This is just a hypothesis and I am just a first year student in mech.eng so sorry for the ignorance.

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 27, 2012 #2

Bobbywhy

Gold Member

Please elabourate: What instability are you referring to? Your idea may be innovative and useful.

Cheers,
    Bobbywhy

4. Sep 27, 2012 #3
    You'll see how silly it is once you do gyroscopic motion in advanced dynamics.

5. Sep 27, 2012 #4
    Yoyo's tend to move around with slight movements from the wrist, usually a swinging motion

6. Sep 27, 2012 #5

Bobbywhy

Gold Member

sadben, unlike the poster #3, I am not so quick to dismiss your hypothesis as silly. You may have a new, unique, and innovative idea. I would hope that when you find the time that you experiment with your hypothesis. Any true searcher would at least try. Who knows, maybe there is something else the impeller(s) could do? And maybe not. At least record the idea in your notebook. Years from now you may discover some cool way to use it.

Cheers,
    Bobbywhy

7. Sep 28, 2012 #6

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member