Signal Discrete Fourier Transform

In summary, the conversation discusses a homework problem involving the discrete Fourier transform (DFT) of a sampled signal. The signal is defined and sampled at a given frequency and for a given time. The conversation explains how to determine the number of samples and how to plot the modulus of the DFT. The significance of using a rectangular window is also discussed, and various methods for applying a window to the signal are mentioned. The original poster later updates that they passed the exam.
feelix
Hi guys, I'm a bit embarassed that my first post here is in this section, but I'm taking a Elec. Eng. course abroad, which is out of my confort zone (i'm majoring in automotive eng.) and I'm trying to solve a few model problems. This one in particular deals with the DFT. Anyway:

Homework Statement

Consider the signal: y= 2*sin(1.5*2*pi*t)

the signal is sampled with a sampling frequency fc=8 Hz, for a time of 1 second and using a rectangular window. plot the modulus of the Discrete Fourier Transform.

-----------

I'm completely lost... I think I have to determine N, using the fc and sampling time, so something like this:

fc=8 Hz => 8=1/T and therefore T(sampling time) = 1/8 s

Since the total sampling time is 1s, for 1s we have 8 samples and so N=8 ?

Is this correct, and if so, where do I go from here?Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not sure what the significance is of using the rectangular window. Hopefully, someone else will chime in and explain that.

In any case, you want to calculate what you'll get for the 8 samples. You'll have a sequence of 8 numbers {x0, x1, ..., x7}. You want to calculate the DFT of this sequence, which will result in a sequence of 8 complex numbers {y0, y1, ..., y7}. You want to plot the modulus of these numbers.

you have a temporal signal y defined by:

f0 = 1.5
y(t) = 2*sin(2*pi*f0*t)

where f0 is the fundamental frequency in Hz. That is, the sin wave oscillates at f0 cycles per second.