Simple Harmonic Motion/Period of a Physical Pendulum

I'm studying the motion of a physical pendulum, could someone help me make the final step in figuring out how to find the period so I can make predictions before carrying out a practical? Basically I have a meter rule with holes drilled along the length and will be pivoting it at various points.

I've done lots of reading and watched lots of videos, I know simple calculus, I understand moment of inertia and torque, small angle approximations and parallel axis theory. I've done dimensional analysis which resulted in:

[tex]T=\sqrt{\frac{I}{mgb}}[/tex]

where T = Period, I = Moment of inertia, m = Mass and b = distance from center of mass to pivot.

I know dimensional analysis doesn't give any constants, and I've seen in books that the actual equation is

[tex]T=2\pi\sqrt{\frac{I}{mgb}}[/tex]

but I'd like to be able to prove this. I know it has to do with angular acceleration and angular frequency, but not sure how. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Most the videos I watch just make the jump and say "we've previously shown why... [tex]\omega^2=\sqrt{\frac{mgb}{I}}[/tex] but I can't find any previous videos that show! :D
I think it's the [tex]\omega^2[/tex] that I can't see where it comes from.

Any help much appreciated!

K

(p.s. If the Latex is messed up I'm probably working on fixing it, I've not used it much)

Answers and Replies

You made a typo it should be ##\omega## not ##\omega^2##.

The easiest derivations of this result requires you to be able to solve a second order differential equation.
Another method using the conservation of energy requires you to solve a first - order differential equation, or equivalently solving a trigonometric integral like integral dx over square root of (a squared - x squared) with a constant. This is usually attacked about second semester calculus.