Simulation Code for Earth's Historical Temperature Record

• Thread starter optotinker
  • Start date
Summary:
Earth Temperature Simulator
I am new to the field of climate change. Are there publicly available simulation code for Earth's temperature history, going back, say 2000 years, with a resolution on the order of years?

Thank you very much.

Answers and Replies

Summary:: Earth Temperature Simulator

I am new to the field of climate change. Are there publicly available simulation code for Earth's temperature history, going back, say 2000 years, with a resolution on the order of years?

Thank you very much.
It is extremely difficult to separate serious information from politics when it comes to climate change. I think a good way to search for the former is to look up the keyword Keeling curve. It started in 1958 but I assume that it has been calculated backward. E.g.
https://keelingcurve.ucsd.edu/permissions-and-data-sources/

Likes Bystander
Thanks.
I saw an old thread somewhat related to my question here:
https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/temperature-in-earths-history.631851/
I am looking for something more quantitative, i.e. a simulator that takes into account all factors that influences the temperature. With that, one can play "what if" scenarios.
Is the current consensus on global temperature solely based on various gases in the atmosphere?

anorlunda
Staff Emeritus
Insights Author
I am looking for something more quantitative, i.e. a simulator that takes into account all factors that influences the temperature. With that, one can play "what if" scenarios.
It's easy to make simulations. But it can be difficult to verify that the model is accurate. With a lot of effort you may be able to show that the model would have predicted the known history, but how could you be confident that "what if" scenarios predicted are trustworthy?

Likes Astronuc, phinds and Bystander
What do you have at home, a Cray?