Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simultaneous events - special relativity

1. Feb 13, 2013 #1
    I'm studying special relativity and I'm having difficulty in understanding somethings. I have 2 questions I'm confused about.

1) If I am moving in relation to you, when you observe me, I should be in slow-motion. but you are moving in relation to me, so when I observe you, will you be in slow motion too?

2) Consider the following experiment. Pam and Jim are moving in a 1-dimensional space frame. Pam moves to the right with velocity v (in relation to me, I'm at rest at the origin), and Jim moves to the left with velocity v too. Both are hanging a 1 meter rule in the hands, pointing forward. They have always the same distance in relation to the origin.
    Consider the following events
    Event 1: the front of the Pam's rule touches Jim
    Event 2: the back of the Pam's rule passes Jim
    Event 3: the front of the Jim's rule touches Pam
    Event 4: the back of the Jim's rule passes Pam

Δt(x,y) = time interval between event x and y measured by Pam
    Δt'(x,y) = time interval between event x and y measured by Jim
    Δt''(x,y) = time interval between event x and y measured by me

For me, events 1 and 3, 2 and 4 should be simultaneous. But let's analyze Jim's frame of reference. For Jim, event 1 and 2 occur at the same place, so, Jim measures the proper time. Thereby Δt(1,2) > Δt'(1,2)
    Also, Δt'(3,4) > Δt(3,4)

For symmetry, Δt(3,4)=Δt'(1,2), Δt(1,2)=Δt'(3,4)
    So Δt(1,2)>Δt(3,4)
    and the events should not be simultaneous to Jim, the same for Pam
    Is this right?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 13, 2013 #2

robphy

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

4. Feb 13, 2013 #3

Mentz114

Gold Member

These diagrams show how the simultaneity is different when events are seen from three frames. I'm not sure if the labelling corresponds to yours.