1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Sketching surfaces described in cylindrical coordinates

1. Sep 16, 2016 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    The surface is described by the equation ## (r-2)^2 + z^2 = 1 ## in cylindrical coordinates. Assume ## r ≥ 0 ##.
    a) Sketch the intersection of this surface with the half plane ## θ= π/2 ##

2. Relevant equations
    ## r= psin φ ##
    ## p^2 = r^2 + z^2 ##

3. The attempt at a solution
    First off, I'm new to cylindrical coordinates, so I don't really know how to work with equations given in these coordinates. Following the few examples given in my textbook, I tried to convert this equation into another involving Cartesian or spherical coordinates. I converted to spherical ones. The result I got was:
    ## p^2 =4p sinφ -3 ##
    The term ## 4p sinφ## is giving me a problem because I don't know how to express the equation in terms of p only. I can't factorise, etc.

Am I starting in the right way at all? Any hints on how to proceed? Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 16, 2016 #2

andrewkirk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Before you think about the half-plane, work out what shape the surface described by the equation is.
    Think about its horizontal cross sections. To get a horizontal cross section we fix ##z##. What two-dimensional shape does the equation describe if ##z## is fixed rather than a variable? Bear in mind that it will be the set of all points with polar coordinates ##(r,\theta)## that obey that equation.