1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Solving a fractional differential equation numerically

1. Mar 7, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

This is a research problem that I imagine is very similar to a homework problem. I am a PhD student in biology, and I lack the mathematical background needed to make sense of the topic.

I would like to find the solution to the fractional differential equation that describes the behavior of a viscoelastic solid. The behavior can be described by a spring in series with a fractional-order dashpot (a "spring-pot").

I have the input strain ([itex]\varepsilon[/itex] below) defined for each of my time points, t. I calculate the fractional derivative of the strain ([itex]D^{\alpha}\varepsilon[/itex] below) using a numerical method according to the Grünwald-Letnikov definition.

I want to solve for the stress ([itex]\sigma[/itex] below).

2. Relevant equations

The differential equation that describes the relationshp between strain ([itex]\varepsilon[/itex]) and stress ([itex]\sigma[/itex]) is:

[tex]D^{\alpha}\varepsilon=\frac{\sigma}{\eta}+\frac{1}{E}D^{\alpha}\sigma[/tex]

Where
    • [itex]\sigma[/itex] is the viscoelastic stress, which is what I want to solve for.
    • [itex]\alpha[/itex] is the order of the differentiation (I have this value).
    • [itex]\varepsilon[/itex] is the viscoelastic strain (I have these value).
    • [itex]\eta[/itex] is the viscosity of the spring-pot (I have this value).
    • [itex]E[/itex] is the spring constant (I have this value).

3. The attempt at a solution

My naive approach was to rearrange the equation to yield:

[tex]D^{\alpha}\sigma=E\left(D^{\alpha}\varepsilon-\frac{\sigma}{\eta}\right)[/tex]