Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Stainless Steel Automotive Applications

1. Apr 20, 2010 #1
    Hi all new to the forum here. I'm a cnc machinist here in Austin Texas looking for some mechanical advice regarding the use of stainless steel in high strength automotive applications.
    Basically, I'm planning on starting up my own little business replicating obsolete and out of production components made of stainless steel for antique motorcycles. I would appreciate some guidance and advise as to what stainless alloy to use for high strength applications, such as wheel axles, engine mounting bolts, suspension bolts and components etc. I know some similar individuals are using alloy 303 for these same applications and another is selling high strength stainless bolts out of 17-4PH for auto applications. 303 doesn't seem to be suitable is it? I am also looking into 15-5PH as well for suitable material to use. Basically looking for a middle ground stainless alloy material between strength and also that would also be affordable to my customers.

Thx in advance

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 21, 2010 #2

Q_Goest

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hi wildcatmahone,
    Welcome to the board. In my experience, selecting the right material for a job is not as easy as looking for high strength or easy machinability. There are many factors you may want to consider.
    - Strength (including strength at actual operating temperature)
    - Fatigue strength (different than but often related to strength)
    - Machinability
    - Weldability
    - Corrosion resistance
    - Resistance to wear
    - Resistance to galling
    - Hardenability
    - Cost