Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Stator slots, does the shape make a difference?

1. Mar 24, 2013 #1
    Hi folks, I'm very new to your impressive forums but just know I've come to the right place for all the pesky questions I need answers to.

For starters - Does the shape\form of a stator slot in a mono-phase, squirrel cage, A\C motor really make a difference?

I believe some shapes offer better magnetic field efficiency, whilst other forms offer better torque, etc. However, despite my continuing investigation I'm still somewhat confused as I can find little data that touches exactly on the shape or form of stator slots as most of the data generalizes rather than specifying.

And no, this isn't a homework question. I'm trying to make my own stator plates for an experimental 120v motor and need the advice.

I really hope someone can help and maybe even supply a link or two to further information.

Thanks in advance for any help offered.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 25, 2013 #2

gerbi

Gold Member

Hi
    There are many possible shapes for stator slots. Selecting a specific shape is infuleced by theses factors:
    - stator winding wire shape (round or rectangular) - to achieve best flling of stator slot,
    - width of slot entry - wider for machine filling of slot with winding wires,
    - minimizing losses in core (and magnetic voltage as well) - changing shape of slot will affect flux distribution in stator teeth (area between slots). Stator teeth should have constant width along it's height (to maintain constant induction -> magnetic field distribution will affect both losses and magnetic voltage),
    - allowed temperature rise in slot area,
    - desired leakage reactance of stator winding (if is considered as one of the design criteria).