Support a family while getting a PhD

In summary, a PhD in Computer Science may be a good option for someone who wants an intellectually stimulating career, but the payoff may not be worth the effort.
Stress2Death
I've heard of people getting PhDs while raising families and I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with this.

I currently work as a software engineer and I have a wife and two kids. I don't want to throw my family into financial turmoil but I'd love to have a more intellectually stimulating career.

Is this realistically possible?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yea, its possible. Most families in the world live off of less resources than a ~20k a year graduate stipend will supply. But if your family is used to first world luxury then it might be a hard sell on them. You know your financial situation and expectations better than we do.

Does your wife work?

Also consider the impact on your retirement nest egg, of eliminating or at least severely reducing your savings rate for however many years it takes to fill in your (presumably) deficient undergraduate physics coursework, and then do the actual Ph.D. program.

Finally, if you're aiming for an academic job after the Ph.D., consider that postdoc salaries are probably less than what you can make as a software engineer. Even a full-time academic position will probably pay a lot less than you would be making as a software engineer with those added years of experience.

Last edited:
Stress2Death said:
I've heard of people getting PhDs while raising families and I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with this.
I currently work as a software engineer and I have a wife and two kids. I don't want to throw my family into financial turmoil but I'd love to have a more intellectually stimulating career.
Is this realistically possible?