1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Tension in two strings with 67 kg mass suspended by them

1. Feb 27, 2015 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A light string has its ends tied to two walls separated by a distance equal to five-ninths the length of the string as shown in the figure. A 67 kg mass is suspended from the center of the string, applying a tension in the string. What is the tension in the two strings of length L/2 tied to the wall? The acceleration of gravity is 9.8 m/s^2 . Answer in units of N.

Here's the diagram, tell me if this link isn't working, I've never used google drive for this before

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By72ra-d5ponYWZCYllGOW90NFE/view?usp=sharing

2. Relevant equations

Torque T=rFsinΘ

3. The attempt at a solution
    So I know that the two angles must be equal, I know that the tension must be evenly distributed between the two so I know that the tension in the two lengths of string must be equal and I know the downward force on the block mg = 67*9.8 = 656.6, and the upward force on the block must equal the downward force so the string provide an upward force of 656.6

but here is where I'm stuck. I have no idea what to do next and I don't know what to do with the rope length fractions. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 27, 2015 #2
    If you call T the tension in the string, from the geometry, what are the components of the tension in the horizontal and vertical directions? (Think Pythagorean theorem).

Chet

4. Feb 27, 2015 #3
    Do you mean like T^2=Thorizontal^2+Tvertical^2 ?

5. Feb 27, 2015 #4
    No, I mean Tcosθ and Tsinθ. What are the sine and cosine of θ?

Chet

6. Feb 27, 2015 #5