Terminal Velocity of a Cylinder Freefalling Through a Fluid

In summary, an engineer is trying to analyze the motion of a cylindrical body falling through static water with the ultimate goal of finding its velocity at a depth of 20m. The engineer has set up a spreadsheet to calculate the time derivatives of velocity, displacement, and acceleration based on the equations of motion. However, there is uncertainty about the damping factor, which affects the terminal velocity. The engineer is considering using either a drag force equation or Stoke's experiment equation, but both methods have limitations and do not provide a sensible answer. The engineer is seeking advice on the best approach to solving this problem.
smithson1984
Hello :)

I am an engineer and I am trying to analyse a system which basically contains a cylindrical body free-falling through a body of static water beginning with zero velocity. I am ultimately trying to find what the velocity of the object would be at a depth of 20m. In order to do this I have a spreadsheet set-up which calculates the time derivative velocity, displacement and acceleration terms at any given time.

The basic equation from which I have derived the time dependant derivatives is as follows:

Fg-Fd-Fb = m.a (1)

Where:

Fg = Bodies 'dry' weight
Fd = Drag load
Fb = Buoyancy Force

The equation can be arrange such that:

terminal velocity, v(term) = (m/b)*g (2)

where b is the damping factor.

It is this damping factor which I am uncertain of. According to Stoke's experiments with a small sphere

b = 6*pi*mu*r (3)

where mu =dynamic viscosity

However this equation does not apply to a cylindrical body is not producing sensible answers.

I have considered using the equation for drag forces to calculate this as folloiws:

Fd=0.5*rho*A*Cd*v^2 (4)

so that, damping factor b becomes:

b = 0.5*rho*A*Cd*v (5)