Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The impossibility of any life due to an expanding universe and entropy

1. Absolutely correct knowledge.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Nearly all correct knowledge.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Some flawed knowledge

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Completely flawed knowledge...

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Jul 14, 2011 #1
    Hi All,

I'm a newbie here and I don't know enough about physics to answer my question, so I will submit what I think I know to be true, then pose some questions, therefore please pardon any allowable mistakes.

1) Time is immaterial for my purposes in this posting, at least in a non-cosmic(local) manner, so there is no need to be apologetic, in any manner, for relationships with local time versus cosmic time (i.e. relationships with local time for instance for our kind of life forms, etc.)

2) Let's assume that an neverending expanding universe is more probable versus the universe reaching a state where it will start to collapse in on itself. In the end, it doesn't matter which one, at least for my purposes, but nonetheless lets assume the expanding universe.

3) Entropy is an intrinsic property of all energy/matter transformations.

4) Taking the assumption in (2) to be true of an neverending expanding universe, then the universe will reach some point where ALL energy/matter transformations will no longer be possible, due to the entropic properties of energy/matter transformations.

5) Questions:
    a) Am I so far correct (in laymen's terms)?
    b) Will the universe eventually reach the point (based on the assumption in (2)) where all is star dust (with absolutely no more energy/matter transformations) thus making it impossible for any form of life (not just our own) to exist?

Thanks,
    Ai Pragma

Last edited: Jul 14, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 14, 2011 #2
  4. Jul 14, 2011 #3