1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Tips for freshman taking physics ?

1. Dec 18, 2009 #1
    Okay so, I'm a freshman in a Physics I class. I must admit, it's not the easiest thing ever and I really want to pass this class. Physics doesn't come naturally for me but most other people in my class seems to understand all the information bieng taught. I'm however mostly clueless.

One reason is probably that i daydream alot. Physics doesn't come naturally for me like biology did. And i think physics would be alot easier if i took trig but i take geometry.. very few freshman actually take trigonometry.

Any tips for learning this stuff?? How did you guys learn all the formulas and where and when exactly to use them?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 18, 2009 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Do past problems.
    Learn the code words in questions, ie smooth slope (ignore friction), massless spring etc
    Check units, always write the units on both sides of the equation and check they balance.
    Do an order of magnitude estimate first, especially for astronomy or molecular scale problems where you have very large or small numbers in the answer

4. Dec 18, 2009 #3
    Hm, code words(:
    i'll try to notice as many code words as possible thank you for your advice ^_^

5. Dec 18, 2009 #4
    What specifically are you having trouble with?

6. Dec 19, 2009 #5
    Paying attention in class and i never know what formula to use in word problems.

7. Dec 19, 2009 #6