PhD in Astrophysics: To Pursue or Not?

• Programs
  • Thread starter arenaninja
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Phd
In summary, the conversation discusses the two paths typically taken in the US for pursuing a degree in astrophysics: obtaining a terminal master's degree or going directly for a PhD. The length of a master's program is usually 2 years, while a PhD can take anywhere from 4-10 years. The conversation also touches on the possibility of working in research and practical applications outside of academia, as well as the language barrier when studying abroad. It is noted that obtaining a master's degree along the way to a PhD is often possible, but not required.
arenaninja
Hello all. My very first post, hopefully I'll be around for a while :biggrin:

I'm currently an undergraduate Physics major at a Community College. I'll be transferring Fall 2010 to a 4-year university (TBD, mostly by finances). For sure, my major is Physics, and though I'd like to go on and work in Physics, I'm realistic about my chances. With a B.S. my chances are grad school or seek employment that will almost surely be non-physics related. Needless to say, I'd like to carry on.

So I'd like to go to grad school and continue to get a degree in Astrophysics. From what I have read, however, it seems that in Astrophysics, people go for either a Master's or a PhD, but not both. Is this correct? And if so, why? My assumption so far has been that you get a Master's, then progress on to a PhD. Additionally, I keep reading that the length for a Master's is somewhere between 8-10 years. Is that correct? What would be the length for a PhD?

I hope I'm being sufficiently clear. If not, I'll clear up your questions as they arise.

Regards,

Arenaninja

Physics news on Phys.org