1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Transfer for Engineering?

1. Oct 14, 2008 #1

wds

I'm a sophomore at William & Mary studying physics and I have realized over the last year or so that what I really want to do is Engineering, namely Civil Engineering.

Problem is, W & M doesn't have engineering. There is a 4:2 engineering plan with three schools (Columbia, RPI, and WashU St. Louis), but I don't know if that would be my best plan.

I have a GPA of 3.6, which I think is pretty good for W & M. I have taken up through Multivariable Calc for math and I am currently taking Modern Physics (after taking Physics 1 & 2 last year).

Question is, would it be advisable for me to transfer into an engineering school for next year and get an undergraduate degree as soon as I can, or to wait and get an engineering degree in grad school (which I know would involve some catch-up)?

Also, I am currently looking at NC State (at which I would pay a low in-state tuition) Georgia Tech, and Virginia Tech to transfer to.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated...

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 15, 2008 #2

stewartcs

Science Advisor

I would suggest transferring to an engineering program if you desire to be an engineer. An "engineer" with a physics degree may not have enough applied skills.

NC State is a good choice.

CS

4. Oct 15, 2008 #3
    Most engineering programs don't involve engineering courses until the third year. A lot of the courses overlap so right now would be a good time to transfer. I wouldn't wait until you have your BS in physics to transfer as you would have to probably spend a year to so to catch up.

5. Oct 17, 2008 #4