Transition from Mechanical Engineering to Physics

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of transitioning from studying Mechanical Engineering to Physics at the graduate level. While it is not an easy transition, it is possible and has been done by famous individuals in the past. The basic courses for a physics bachelor's degree are outlined, with emphasis on the need to cover classical mechanics, statistical and thermal physics, electrodynamics, quantum mechanics, and solid state physics. It is suggested that taking these courses as a benchmark can help in determining if this is the right path. Alternatively, one could apply directly to a graduate program, but this may require a strong applicant profile and making up for any missing courses. The individual also asks for advice on raising their GPA and addressing any concerns about the transition.
Quantum_Nerd
Hello, I am currently a second semester sophomore studying Mechanical Engineering thinking about studying Physics at the graduate level after my undergraduate degree is done. My main inquiry is regarding the transition from Mechanical Engineering to Physics. How hard is it exactly (if at all)? Also, if I was thinking about doing a PhD program in either what would my grades have to look like in order to attend a reputable school with an outstanding Physics or Mechanical Engineering department. My current GPA is a 3.30, any advice on raising it (as well as addressing the aforementioned questions)? Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Not a particularly easy transition but very possible (some famous people switched from eng. to physics, e.g. Wigner, had a master degree equivalent in chemical engineering).
You need to cover the basic courses of a physics bachelor degree, e.g.

-classical mechanics (its not just Newton's mechanics)
-statistical and thermal physics (you would be studying some thermal physics in mech. eng.)
-electrodynamics
-quantum mechanics