Triple integral with cylindrical coordinates

In summary, MaterWu77 tried to solve a problem involving integrating a function in cylindrical coordinates, but was not able to do so due to lack of understanding of the problem and its limits of integration. He was then helped by another user, who was able to provide the limits of integration and explain the process of integrating the function in cylindrical coordinates.
MasterWu77

Homework Statement

Use cylindrical coordinates to evaluate the triple integral

[tex]\int[/tex][tex]\int[/tex][tex]\int[/tex] [tex]\sqrt{x^2+y^2}[/tex] dV in region E

where E is the solid bounded by the circular paraboloid z=9-(x^2+y^2) and the xy-plane.

Homework Equations

knowing that x = rcos[tex]\theta[/tex]
y= rsin[tex]\theta[/tex]
z=z
for a coordinates in clindrical

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm not sure how to get the bounds of integration for this problem. I know it has something to do with the paraboloid given but I am not very good at drawing such a figure. I do understand that you need to change the x and y into xcos and ysin in order to integral the problem. any help would be greatly appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
hey MaterWu77, start by transforming your integrand and bounding surface into cylindircal coordinates, things should simplify a fair bit

Another relevant equation, and one you didn't show, is r2 = x2 + y2.

In cylindrical coordinates, dV can be represented as dz r dr d[itex]\theta[/itex]. Take note of that factor of r.

You region E is such that 0 <= z <= 9 - (x2 + y2), 0 <= r <= 3, and 0 <= [itex]\theta[/itex] <= [itex]2\pi[/itex].

The resulting integral in cylindrical form looks like this. The question marks are placeholders that you need to fill in.

[tex]\int_{\theta = ?}^{?} \int_{r = ?}^? \int_{z = 0}^? ?~dz~r~dr~d\theta[/tex]

Because of the symmetry of your integrand and the region E, you can integrate the part in the first quadrant and multiply your result by 4.