Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Trying to understand relativity

1. Jul 26, 2012 #1
    I am a novice in relativity as of now and I'm still learning about it. Currently reading Feynman's lectures and an example has confused me. So here it is,

Consider a spaceship moving at a velocity u. If a light source is placed equidistant from two detectors at opposite ends, one in front of it and the other behind it (with respect to the direction of motion). Then for a person inside the spaceship, a ray of light reaches both detectors at the same time but for a person observing from outside the spaceship the ray of light takes more time to reach the detector in front of it than the one behind it (as the detector in front is seemingly moving away from the source while the one behind is moving towards it).

I do not fully understand this concept. I'd be glad if someone could explain it to me

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 26, 2012 #2

PAllen

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It is called relativity of simultaneity. The concept of 'at the same time' is not a universal truth, and cannot even be perceived over any significant distance without some measurement convention. For a reasonable convention, we find, that in our universe, if two observers are in relative motion, they will disagree on which 'events' are 'at the same time'. Thus, using normal measurement conventions, both rocket observer and home observer see light as traveling the same speed, but they disagree on which events are 'at the same time'. For the home observer, the 'arrival at back' event occurs before the 'arrival at front event. Inside the rocket, these same two events are considered simultaneous.

4. Jul 26, 2012 #3