Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Umm, cauchy-schwarz

1. Sep 6, 2005 #1
    I'm self taught though, so please bear with any questions i have. One side of the cauchy schwarz innequality (CSI, nice acronym) is

l u.v l

Firstly what's the difference between ll u ll and l u l . I thought the norm was the length.

Also, what does it mean by the length of the dot product of u and v? I thought the dot product was a number itself, and not a tuple or something.
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 6, 2005 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

llull = norm/lenght of the vector u.

|u| = ABSOLUTE VALUE of the scalar u.
  4. Sep 7, 2005 #3

Homework Helper

[tex]\left| {\vec x \cdot \vec y} \right| \leqslant \left\| {\vec x} \right\|\left\| {\vec y} \right\|[/tex]

As quasar987 said, " | | " is for the absolute value. So as you said correctly, the inner product is a scalar so the inequality states that the absolute value of the inner product of two vectors is always less than (or equal too) the product of the norms of both vectors.
  5. Sep 7, 2005 #4

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

However, many people use |x| and ||x|| interchangably since there is no real difference between them; a 1-d vector is a scalar so the scalar norm and the vector norm are the same here. And most (pure) mathematicians do not distinguish symbolically between vectors and scalars; they let the context make it clear which is meant.
  6. Sep 7, 2005 #5
    ahh, that cleared the doubts. Thanks alot.
  7. Sep 12, 2005 #6